FG Warns of High Flood Risk in 148 Local Government Areas

Elishabawa 1 month ago 0 12

Federal Government Alerts on High Flood Risk in 148 Local Government Areas Across 31 States

The Federal Government has issued a warning concerning the vulnerability of 148 Local Government Areas (LGAs) spread across 31 states in the country to high flood risks.Minister of Water Resources, Prof Joseph Utsev, made this announcement in Abuja while presenting key findings from the 2024 Annual Flood Outlook prepared by the Nigeria Hydrological Services Agency on Tuesday.

According to Utsev, the identified high flood-risk areas encompass various states, including Adamawa, Akwa-Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, and Yobe. The period of expected floods ranges from April to November 2024.Additionally, Utsev noted that parts of the 249 LGAs across 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) are categorized under moderate flood risk areas. However, specific details regarding these moderate-risk areas were not provided. While seasonal flooding is common in Nigeria, the devastating floods of 2022 were among the worst since 2012, impacting 33 out of Nigeria’s 36 states and displacing over two million people.

Be the FIRST to get exclusive stories, breaking news and videos.

Follow us on our facebook and stay on top of all the happenings in the nation and the world at large.

Written By

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *